RCN-SEES: Predictive Modeling Network for Sustainable Human – Building Ecosystems

Call for Abstracts for Workshop on:
Interdisciplinary Data Structure for Collaborative Research in Sustainable Human-Building Ecosystems (SHBE)

This NSF – funded Research Coordination Network (RCN) in Science, Engineering and Education for
Sustainability (SEES) announces its Seventh workshop on a special topic that leverages the network participants’ activities in another NSF sponsored project, “Virtual Information-Fabric Infrastructure (VIFI) for Data-Driven Decisions from Distributed Data,” in which RCN is part the working group.

Participants are invited to submit an abstract of no more than 500 words for engaging discussions and presentations describing what drives the data and models from a specific research domain to an integrative, interdisciplinary platform that requires at least one technical discipline and one social science discipline in the context of understanding the fundamentals of sustainability science and its application to the building design, development and operation. The following are suggested topics of discussion:
• Types of research data and models in architectural design, building engineering and technology, computer science, power systems and demand response, occupant behaviors, energy efficiency, information technologies, sociology, psychology, communication, policy and others. Examples of models include, but not limited to, BIMS, Human Behavior, etc.
• Needs and challenges to access the data and models from case studies.
• Demonstration of or participation in case studies for the VIFI platform.
• Innovative approach to address the dynamic data collection and analytics within time constraints.

Download the flyer here:

Important Dates:
RCN-SEES-SHBE Workshop VII: June 5-6, 2017             
Abstract Submission Deadline (extended): April 24, 2017 
Registration Deadline: May 12, 2017 (No registration fee)

June 5-6, 2017: One and a half day workshop

Submit your RSVP, Registration and/or Abstract via web at: shbe@nova.edu

Chair: Yong X. Tao, Nova Southeastern University
Advisory Committee:
Laura Arpan, Florida State University
Yimin Zhu, Louisiana State University
Omer Karaguzel, Carnegie Mellon University
Mirsad Hadzikadic, University North Carolina, Charlotte
Wei Yan, Texas A&M University
Chien-Fei, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Ling Wang, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale
Staff Support: Suraj Talele, stalele@nova.edu
Return to Top